Resources for 21st Century Lifelong Learners

clicktby

Excerpted from an article by Sarah F. Erickson, Director for Lifelong Learning

Here is a list of several of the resources I’m currently utilizing, and referring to on a regular basis. I invite you to check them out – or not. But before you toss them, try them on for size, and test my 7-point approach.

Evernote. I’m a novice, but I’m finding it useful to organize resources for projects in development. I’m trying to follow my own advice so this is one of the “new resources” I’m experimenting with– I may move on if I find I like other options better.

The Wabash Center. The blog, “Race Matters in the Classroom,” has my attention. And the resource lists at http://wabashcenter.wabash.edu/resources are worth a bookmark.

WorkingPreacher.Org. A go-to place for Revised Common or Narrative Lectionary exegetical resources.

Feasting on the Word. I have a traditional print set of theCommentaries, and am building the library of the Worship Companions. I LOVE the DVDs that come with the Companion.

Songza.Com. I like a variety of music while I work. This does the trick, and is currently my go-to office music. I also listen to my local NPR affiliate; it also has a good app that I use when I travel.

Hymns by Carolyn Winfrey Gillette.  I’ve been a fan of her work for a long time. She practices #4 – she shares, generously. Just attribute her work. And a donation is always welcome.

Because the classics never go out of style, I love Christian Classics Ethereal Library.

This post was originally written for the October newsletter of The Association of Leaders of Lifelong Learning in Ministry (ALLLM), which also happens to have a great resource list here.

Sarah Erickson serves as Director at the CLL. She has special interests in the role of music and worship in faith formation. She currently serves as the the Vice-President for ALLLM, and you can find her on Facebook, on Twitter @saraherickson and occasionally on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

