dark days & the light of christ

Does the lack of light from the shorter days of winter affect your mood? Read how Melissa Sue Shults uses the Liturgy of the Hours to beat the gloom.

Vibrant Faith@Home Blog

PrayerInSadnessA couple weeks ago, on a dark, gloomy Friday afternoon, I found myself in a terrible mood. It has not been a rough winter here in Western Montana. In fact, it’s been a little disappointing with the lack of snow and warm temperatures. But even with mild weather, the short days get to me. I find myself longing for light. I know there is a lot of winter ahead and I hate being in a bad mood, so this one afternoon prompted me to try a little experiment to help me get through these next winter months.

I have long been intrigued by the Liturgy of the Hours and the rhythm of pausing every few hours to pray (Resources on this ancient practice can be found at: divineoffice.org, commonprayer.org, commonprayer.net). So I have utilized the technology of my smart phone and set an alarm for the hours: 6am, 9am, noon…

View original post 231 more words

Leave a Reply

